The Road Taken: Stormy Weather

It was the mid 1980s. I was a young driver without a lot of stormy weather driving experience. My BFF, Paulette, and I were having a girls weekend in Cloudland Canyon, one of the Georgia State Parks in the rugged mountains region in the northwest corner of the state. The roads are narrow, the turns are curvy and at points the elevations reach 1800 feet.

20170125074900596_0002
The winding roads along Cloudland Canyon

On one occasion we were driving on a lonely road and a thunderstorm erupted suddenly (think pre-Weather Channel). The downpour was so fierce that there was zero visibility. The windshield wipers became insignificant and we prayed our way down the mountain.

20170125074900596_0001
From inside the vehicle – before the downpour – you can see the windshield wiper

While many other severe weather events have occurred since then while travelling, I always point back to that precise moment. I know God helped me drive and I know God kept us safe. That is a travel blessing for which I am eternally grateful. No matter how bad the storm, I know it can never be worse than the Cloudland Canyon event.

20170125074900596_0003
Our cabin at Cloudland Canyon State Park

 

This post was originally featured in my monthly challenge called, TRAVEL BLESSINGS CHALLENGE

travel-blessings3

I enjoy participating in the weekly challenge from  The Daily Post. This week’s theme is “The Road Taken”

The Road Taken

One thought on “The Road Taken: Stormy Weather

Let me hear from you; I love what you have to say.

